What’s in a Name?

I’m sure many of you are wondering why the heck I would name a blog something like I have. So just why did I choose Carburetors and Catechism? To put it simply, those are a few of my favorite things.

Not just Carburetors, but mechanics in general. Cars, things that go fast, something I can wrench and work on. And don’t even get me going on Motorcycles, you’ll never get me to shut up. They are, as I have said, my Muse.  Motorcycles are my inspiration. On two wheels you are you and no one else. You can’t be touched, not literally because that semi you just whizzed past reminds you of that, but in a sense that no one controls you.

I’ll move away fro that otherwise we’ll be here for ever talking about motorcycles. Now for the Catechism part. The Catechism is the teaching of the Church, and I think I love the church more than I do motorcycles. Until I entered Seminary I had never picked up a Catechism, that’s 18 years of not ever having read what the church taught or believed in. Within one year of studies I had read the entire Catechism and it’s great let me tell you.

It suddenly makes sense why we do the things we do in Mass. It explains why we respond the way we do. It tells us how to be Catholic. I mean literally lays it out, right there in not so easy to understand Church language.  It takes some time to fully understand it and you may have to re-read some parts, but that’s easy stuff.

That’s how the title of this blog came about, a few of my favorite things. Two of the things I’m passionate about, wrapped right into one. I wouldn’t want it any other way.

Stay Divine,

Josh

2 thoughts on “What’s in a Name?

Leave a Reply

