Man cannot live on carbohydrates alone

Ok, so the verse doesn’t go like that exactly, but hey this is 2014. As the verse actually goes it says that “Man cannot live on bread alone, but from the every word that comes forth from the mouth of God.” Matt. 4:4

If you ask my mother it’s just like me to be talking about food. Especially bread. I love bread, in all forms. The reason I’m talking about bread is because it’s Thursday. Now just what the heck does Thursday have to do with bread? Well on Thursdays we have biscuits and gravy for breakfast, without fail. We may have terrible toilet paper and there may be snow on the ground, but we will have biscuits and gravy. I however am not a fan of gravy, it’s a texture thing. Never liked it, it’s just too much for me. That doesn’t pervade me from getting some biscuits though, with a little bit of peanut butter. Just a little bit. Ok a lot.

Another reason I bring up bread is because my chaplain, Fr. John Pokémon, made a few of the guys he’s chaplain for some tiny loaves of bread. Mine ended up being Cinnamon bread and oh mikey does it taste good. I’ve had to restrain from sitting down and eating it all. I do have some self control. So thank you Fr. John for the loaf. But remember, I cannot live on bread alone.

In the above mentioned passage, Jesus is telling us that when we go to mass we need to live on the word of God. The scriptures. They are just as important as the Eucharist. Now don’t get me wrong I’m not demeaning the Eucharist at all! I am simply interpreting the scriptures as just as important. There is a Parish in my Diocese that has the ambo (place where you read from during the liturgy) and the alter right next to each other. When I first saw this it bugged me, a lot. Actually it kind of made me mad. I had to ask about it to fully understand that; they were placing the word of God and God himself at the center of their lives. Not one or the other, but both. How great is that? That is how I’m interpreting this reading from the Gospel.

I’ve gotta jet though because I have a conference to attend, but don’t worry I’m bringing the loaf with me, and a small jar of peanut butter. Cause I can’t live on bread alone, but with some peanut butter I’ll survive.

Stay Divine,

Josh

Leave a Reply

