Adoremus in Aeternum Sanctissimum Sacramentum

“Let us adore Forever the Most Holy Sacrament”

I’m talking Adoration here people. Let’s be honest for a minute, how many of you actually go to adoration? Actually better than that, how many of you actually know what Adoration is?
Adoration is you sitting in the awe inspiring presence of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I mean he is right there in the flesh, on the alter, in the Monstrance. And you are sitting like, 30 feet away.

Don’t give me any of this, “it’s boring”, “I don’t know what to do”, “I can’t sit still; Well listen up you little heathen you don’t do anything. You sit there and have conversation with the Lord and as for sitting still- If I can do it so can you. This is something that I wish more of my friends did. I’m serious if I had a friend of mine come up and say “Hey Josh, can we go to adoration for a little bit?” I would honestly probably stroke out.

I’m bringing this up because it’s Sunday, and every Sunday the entire Seminary community gathers at 7:45pm for Adoration in our Basilica. We’re there for an hour. Sometimes it’s the only thing that gets me through the week. I know; sitting still for a hour on a Sunday gets me through the week, but I’m not just sitting there. I am praying, hardcore.

Now my prayers aren’t what I would call traditional prayers, it’s more like a conversation. I just kinda sit down and talk to God. I lay everything out there for him and we talk it over. It’s great to just be able to sit and sort things out. Here we are in the silence, conversing with God. It’s not like we have lots of silence in this world of ours anyway, so this hour is great.

It is rough sometimes, I mean there are times when I don’t want to go. It’s when you don’t want to go that means you should go! However when I walk away from it, I’m always happy that I went. I gain so much by simply being in the presence of my God. How can we expect to have a friendship with someone we never see? This is just like visiting your friends on the other side of town, simple and easy. Get in your car and drive to the Church, park, go inside and talk to him. I would honestly bet that your parish has, at sometime during the week, adoration for at least an hour.

I believe this should be a priority for you, if you can making watching that dumb football game a priority, you sure as hell better make spending time with God top of that list. Think of how much your missing out on. Even hollywood realizes this, look at the movies they make. When someone is in trouble or hurt or lost, where do they go? The Church. Let me name a few movies for you here: Superman, Home Alone, the Conjuring, etc… If Hollywood sees it, shouldn’t you?

I’m not asking much here, shoot dawg I’m not even asking, I’m telling you to go. You’ll thank me later.

Stay Divine,

Josh

3 thoughts on “Adoremus in Aeternum Sanctissimum Sacramentum

  1. I hear you, Son. I choose not to go every Monday. And those times when I get to Adoration, I feel the same–I’m so glad I went. Tomorrow is Monday. I hope God is ready, because I have a lot to say, and maybe He will have some sage words for me, as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

