It’s Lent yo!

Well look at the time, it’s Lent already. I guess Wednesday is technically the time this shin-dig starts and like any big deal it’s starting with a bang, in the form of Ash Wednesday. You know that one day where you go to mass before or during work and come back with ashes in the form of a Cross, or X if your unlucky enough, and then everyone tells you that you have something on your forehead, to which you kindly reply for the 10 millionth time: “I know you ninny.” Don’t let that be your response, in stead “just smile and wave boys, smile and wave.”

What the heck is Ash Wednesday, well for starters it is the most mistakenly thought of holy day of obligation ever (Fun Fact: Most people do actually think Ash Wednesday is a holy day of obligation, it’s not. But that Sunday Mass you missed last week was). Ash Wednesday so the kick off to Lent, and Lent is a time of waiting and re-newall. The ashes mark our saying that “We are dust, and to dust we shall return.”  A little morbid, but that’s what Lent is about, our dying to be rise the Christ.

Generally during Lent all the little children give something up (i.e. candy soda, tv, etc…) but as adults I think there is more in it for us. Take this reflection for instance:

Lent isn’t simply about us ‘giving up’ something. The real grace is when we recognize that Lent is a season in which God wants to give us something. God wants to help us transform our lives and make us more free as people– not just freer with God, but in the way we live our lives and love our families.

This alone shows us that we need to DO something instead of give something up. Think about all you can do in 40 days. I mean technically this is like the equivalent of the Catholics new year resolution. I know I did carry over a lenten promise for a full year and a half once- I gave up all forms of drink except water, and that’s tough cause I love grape juice. But I did it.

Let’s take this year for example, I’ll lay out some things that I’m doing for my Lent, 1) Actually getting in a good rosary. Now what defines a good rosary? One that I can pray and not be distracted while doing it. One that has my full attention. And maybe it will only end up being a decade, but a decade prayed well is better than a rosary half-hearted. 2) No more hitting the snooze button. I’m bad about this one, and it’s just cause 5:30 rolls around too fast. 3) (in conjunction with my roommate) Read one chapter of a book of the Bible one day and a spiritual reading from another book the next, alternate days. I did this last year and it really drew my roommate and I closer and gave us an appreciation for some great spiritual reading.

I have others that I’ll participate in, but those are the main ones. I hope you find something or some way that will help you grow closer to the Lord this Lent. 40 days is an easy time to improve your life. Give it a try, it can’t hurt.

Stay Divine,

Josh

One thought on “It’s Lent yo!

Leave a Reply

